Rohit Sharma named captain for Champions Trophy; Jay Shah confident India will win WTC, CT in 2025

Rohit Sharma named captain for Champions Trophy; Jay Shah confident India will win WTC, CT in 2025

BCCI secretary Jay Shah correctly predicted earlier this year that India would lift the T20 World Cup trophy under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy. He has now expressed confidence that the team will continue to win global tournaments as he announced that Rohit Sharma will continue to captain India in Tests and ODIs.

After leading India to victory in the World Cup in June, Rohit announced that he had played his last T20I. Apart from Rohit, Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja also retired from the format.

In a video message, Shah congratulated the team on their World Cup victory and dedicated his message to the trio who were bidding farewell, along with outgoing national coach Rahul Dravid.

Also read: Flower says India has ‘ready-made replacements’ for retired superstars

“I congratulate Team India for this historic victory. I would like to dedicate this victory to coach Rahul Dravid, captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja,” Shah said on Sunday.

“This was our third ICC final in the last year. In June we lost the WTC final, in the ODI World Cup we won hearts with 10 wins in a row but the cup eluded us. I had said in Rajkot that in June 2024 we will not only win hearts but also the cup,” he added.

India defeated South Africa in the final held at the Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 29.

At one point, South Africa needed just 30 runs from 30 before India’s fast bowlers staged a dramatic recovery to win by seven runs.

“The last five overs proved crucial for the win. And for that I would like to thank Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh and Hardik Pandya,” said Shah/

“Our next target is the WTC Final and Champions Trophy. I am confident that under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy we will win both the tournaments,” he added.

The final of the current World Test Championship will be held at Lord’s in 2025, while Pakistan will host the Champions Trophy next year.

top videos

View all

  • Bigg Boss OTT 3: Payal Malik’s eviction upsets fans, husband Arman Malik’s happy expression shocks

  • Natasa Stankovic pictured running errands in the city and missing her husband Hardik Pandya’s T20 Finals

  • ‘Kalki 2898 AD’ Hits Rs 500 Cr Mark | Virat’s Love Letter For Anushka | Shatrughan Sinha Hospitalized

  • Bad Newz Trailer Launch: Vicky Kaushal FINALLY Responds To Katrina Kaif’s Pregnancy Rumors I WATCH

  • Katy Perry Takes Naked Dressing to the Next Level by Wearing Just a Coat to Paris Couture Week | WATCH

  • India won the Champions Trophy once in 2013 and finished runners-up in the first two editions of the WTC.

    Feroz Khan

    Feroz Khan has been involved in sports reporting for over 12 years and is currently working

    first print: Jul 7, 2024, 1:29 PM IST